Meeting with U-die: a pleasure of discovery

My first encounter with a work of U-die, a young Japanese artist and painter, was at Art fair Tokyo in March.
Two portraits fearuting Marilyn Monroe and Lady Diana were hang next each other.

At the first glance, I thought these are just another portraits of iconic faces of famous people that many artists have created by now, including the famous silkscreen by Andy Walhol.  Then, my eyes gradually started recognising a very minute something filled in the painting.  I walked closer to the painting and realized that the detail of the lines and colours composing the portrait is actually made by ‘manga’ look-like drawing.  I still remember the pleasant surprise by saying aloud “WOW”.

I am going to write more about U-die in the next post. In the mean time, enjoy his great artwork and discovering what is hidden.

Marilyn u-die

Leave a comment